Web 2.0 is like the Mafia…

…just when you think you’re done with it, it pulls you back in.

As I’ve mentioned, I’ve recently switched up job duties and am now in charge of my library’s Interlibrary Loan department.  (And by “in charge” and “department”, I mean I do everything.)  So I thought I wouldn’t have time anymore to reallly think about Web 2.0 things.   Turns out, that’s not quite the case.

I was minding my own business this afternoon, submitting ILL requests via OCLC, and I noticed that there is now an option for electronic delivery of materials via Yahoo IM, Skype or Windows Live Messenger.  Check it out.

(Sorry for the external link, but I can’t get an image to upload to WordPress today to save my life.  The electronic delivery stuff is in the middle of the screen shot.)

For reasons beyond my understanding, my branch library is unable to get Ariel or any of the other ILL software operational, so perhaps this could be a way around that.  My patron-privacy-o-meter goes up when I think about transmitting materials via non-library vendors, so I’ll have to check into that and see how it all works before I fire it up.

On a related note, there has got to be a way for me to stream line the notification process when an ILL is recieved.  Or submitted, for that matter.  When this first law journal source and cite rush calms down, I hope to work on creating an electronic form so that I can keep my records better organized (ILL is causing me to go through a hellish amount of paper…my carbon footprint is growing at an exponential rate!) and do “push button” notifications.

Now for something completely different….

If you’ve followed the news this week, you’ll have seen that my neck of the country got slammed by a terrible ice storm.  I’m okay – surprisingly didn’t lose power or cable – so I can concentrate on the neat things about the storm.  Namely, this is my first natural disaster since I got all Web 2.0.   I spent Tuesday night on my laptop chatting with friends and watching the storm’s progress through Lexington via Twitter.  I have to admit, it was pretty scary, because I could hear the branches crack and transformers pop and it many ways it felt like a horror movie and that I was being stalked by a monster.

On the bright side, it was also nice to get the occassional reassuring message and helpful advice from those that had gone through something like this before.   And it was nice to know that if something had gone wrong, I could have always updated my Twitter via my cell phone (assuming, I guess, the cell towers were okay) and my friends and family would know I was alright.  Or that they should send help.   And, of course, sometimes the best news of all came through Twitter.

Leave a Reply

