A Heartwarming Tale of Blogs and Libraries

This is a little off-topic from what I usually post…

Before I was a blogger, I was a blog reader. One of the first blogs I started to regularly read was pamie.com, the blog of Pamela Ribon. At that time, I just knew her as one of the moderators on Television Without Pity, a website I spent more time on than my Civil Procedure homework. Now she’s a writer for the television show “Samantha Who.”

She’s a life long lover of books and so five years ago decided to start a book donation system. If memory serves correctly, it was in response to the Salinas, California branch library getting closed, but I’m not entirely sure about that. This donation system (which she runs with one of the co-founders of TWoP) has evolved into the Dewey Donation System.

All of this was just a long-winded way of me pointing you to this letter Pamie received from one of the librarians she helped this year. If you don’t feel something while reading that, well then I’m afraid you have NO HEART.

Oh, and Dewey ends today.  HOWEVER, don’t let that stop you from donating to a library.  You can always go to Amazon.com’s Wishlist area and search for “library”.   There’s over 3000 to choose from!

Leave a Reply

